The Illusion of Progress

We’re not ok. We seem fine. But there’s something underneath all of this. All of the smiles and selfies. It appears as if we’re all moving forward in life. It’s very easy to look the part. That’s the beauty of living online: the glimpses of who we are, or who we want to be, for a split second, we all look wonderful. But look closer. There’s brokenness. The insecurity. There’s people attempting to reach out for help. But it’s hard. There’s a stigma. There’s medicine. And doctors. Just look at us. Look at all the happiness. It’s a beautiful thing. This is The Illusion of Progress.

Featuring: Ashley Cox, Emily Gilcrease, David Billiot, Aaron Davis, Divine, Nash Pitre Sr, Brandon Dufrene, Krista Whitney, Tiffany Jacobs, Kristal Coleman, Nicole Neal, Ocean, Drew Rhodes, Ocean, Paul Noyola, Jason Pellegrin, Cameron Eschete, Sinima, Janea Robling, Selima Plaisance, Renee Bertinot, Michelle Eschete, and Amber Smith

A simple story about mental health and finding God. The album includes nine songs and thirty different people collaborating with me. When I made this album, it was everything to me: it consumed my time and my identity for months. Now, it’s just a friend from the past that I barely know. It’s an artifact from an old version of myself. All of the deep and heavy topics that’s discussed here, as well anything heavy that you’re currently dealing with, can easily be defeated. It all starts in your mind.


Bought a Camera, Going Pro. Got Married and Have a Video to Prove It. Rose Was Born November 12th. Just Lost Our Husky. Last Updated: May 18th, 2022.

Highlights from my Kindle